Catholic Relief Services

Welcome to Battling Terrorism!

     Menu
  • Home
  • Advertising
  • AutoTheme
  • Downloads
  • Feedback
  • Journal
  • Private Messages
  • Recommend Us
  • Search
  • Statistics
  • Stories Archive
  • Submit News
  • Surveys
  • Top 10
  • Topics
  • Web Links
  • Your Account

  •      User Info
    Welcome, Anonymous
    Nickname
    Password
    (Register)
    Membership:
    Latest: HeathMaybe
    New Today: 0
    New Yesterday: 0
    Overall: 90246

    People Online:
    Visitors: 54
    Members: 0
    Total: 54

     'To Associate Religion with Terrorism Hurts Believers'

    Latest News'To Associate Religion with Terrorism Hurts Believers'
    Zaman Online, Turkey

    By Mukremin Albayrak, Baran Tas, Istanbul
    Published: Thursday, May 04, 2006
    zaman.com

    Turkey’s Director of Religious Affairs, Professor Ali Bardakoglu, said Wednesday Turkey is a country where different cultures coexist in peace and tolerance. “Religion is ranked above politics in one’s private life. It is independent of politics. It is not a means to be used by politicians,” Bardakoglu said. Speaking at “12th Mediterranean Special Dialogue Seminar” organized at the Ritz Carlton Hotel; the director noted Islamic countries have problems in terms of democratization, state, and politics-religion relations. He said Islam promotes ...



    human and women’s rights, political participation, and never suppresses free thinking in the name of God, adding that one cannot commit violent acts in the name of religion. “We Muslims condemn global terror. World leaders should not associate violence with religion. All religions encourage peace and brotherhood while rejecting violence,” Bardakoglu said. Istanbul Greek Orthodox Patriarch Bartholomeos recalled Martin Luther King’s statement, “Either we will learn to live together as brothers and sisters, or perish together as fools,” and said they believe different religions and cultures will live together in dialogue. Turkish Jewish Chief Rabbi Isak Haleva also stressed that both in the East and the West, civilization is achieved through humane understanding, and it is under the monopoly of no one. Following speeches at the seminar, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization Parliament’s Polish representative asked questions regarding church assets and the Heybeliada Seminary. Kirikkale MP Vahit Erdem told the Polish representative legal regulations about church assets are being drafted. “No school is outside our law,” Erdem said about Heybeliada Seminary.



    "'To Associate Religion with Terrorism Hurts Believers'" | Login/Create an Account | 0 comments
    The comments are owned by the poster. We aren't responsible for their content.

    No Comments Allowed for Anonymous, please register

         Check this out



         Old Articles
    Monday, August 21
    · Crisis in Lebanon - 21 Aug 2006
    Saturday, August 19
    · Cameron stands by terror comments
    Friday, August 18
    · CSIS boss calls racial profiling 'fundamentally stupid'
    Thursday, August 17
    · Why We MUST Profile
    · Let Humanity's Mutiny Begin
    Wednesday, August 16
    · Terror Charge Dropped in Cell Phone Case
    · Hispanics Angered by Democratic Web Ad
    · Al Qaeda have Nukes
    Friday, August 11
    · Airline Stocks Hit By Terror Alert
    · Bombing Near Iraq Shrine Leaves 35 Dead
    Thursday, August 10
    · Current Threat Level
    · Homeland Security Advisory System
    · TERRORISTS' SILENT NEW WEAPON IDENTIFIED
    Wednesday, August 09
    · Global cybercrime treaty gets US Senate nod
    Tuesday, August 08
    · Bush Is Dealing From Position of Weakness
    Monday, August 07
    · A few hopeful signs
    · Iraq PM criticizes US-led attack
    Tuesday, June 20
    · Senate Democrats offer new Iraq plan
    Monday, June 19
    · Have the Mainstream Media Ignored Our Heroes?
    Wednesday, June 14
    · Congress to focus on war, terrorism
    Tuesday, June 13
    · Authorities put restraints on three people over terrorism fears
    Monday, June 12
    · ACLU and NSA in head court for hearing on domestic surveillance
    Friday, June 09
    · SCO chief appreciates Iran's campaign against terrorism
    Thursday, June 08
    · PB County getting $1.4M for anti-terrorism projects
    Wednesday, June 07
    · UK terrorism suspect linked to Canadian arrests: BBC
    Tuesday, June 06
    · Toronto mosque vandalized after terrorism arrests
    Monday, June 05
    · Terrorism accused's jail regime 'absurd'
    Sunday, June 04
    · Terrorism: tool of the weak, not poor
    Saturday, June 03
    · Filmmaker details Prophet's life
    Friday, June 02
    · Harbour open to attack
    Thursday, June 01
    · 'United 93' brings 9/11 reminder to Cannes
    Wednesday, May 31
    · Beslan terrorist sentenced - Russia
    Tuesday, May 30
    · Florida flea market owner sentenced for helping terrorist group
    Monday, May 29
    · Uganda: I'm Not a Terrorist, Says Kony
    Sunday, May 28
    · To The NSA Your Book Club Looks Like A Terrorist Group
    Saturday, May 27
    · Angle again misled on NSA domestic surveillance
    Friday, May 26
    · Hawkins Renews Call for Independent Investigation of 9/11 ...
    Thursday, May 25
    · Pakistani Loner Convicted in NYC Bomb Plot
    Friday, May 19
    · Howard focuses on terrorism - Canada
    Tuesday, May 16
    · US renews full diplomatic relations with Libya
    · US sanctions Venezuela over terrorism: official
    Thursday, May 11
    · Burlington man accused of terrorism
    Wednesday, May 10
    · Opposition backs anti-terrorism laws
    Monday, May 08
    · Malaysia to set up centre against cyber-terrorism
    Saturday, May 06
    · Castro slams US terrorism charge
    Friday, May 05
    · UN Chief Asks Media to Shun 'Terrorists'
    Thursday, May 04
    · 'To Associate Religion with Terrorism Hurts Believers'
    · Kalam calls for global mechanism to prevent terrorism
    · Warning over flourishing terrorism camps
    Wednesday, May 03
    · Palestinian professor sentenced for terrorism in US

    Older Articles

         Click for Info







    Copyright © 2005 - 2014 URLville Web Services and BattlingTerrorism.com. All rights reserved. All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2005 - 2014 by URLville Web Services and BattlingTerrorism.com
    PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
    Page Generation: 0.17 Seconds